Foreign Affairs Council (FAC)

The Foreign Affairs Council (FAC) is responsible for the EU's external action, ranging from foreign policy and defence to trade, development cooperation and humanitarian aid. It comprises of the Foreign Ministers of EU Member States who meet once a month. Depending on the agenda, the Council also brings together Defence Ministers (Common Security and Defence Policy), Development Ministers (Development Cooperation), or Trade Ministers (Common Commercial Policy). The Foreign Affairs Council is the only Council configuration that is not chaired by the rotating Presidency; it is chaired by the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, currently Baroness Catherine Ashton.